Did An Eat: Black Cat Cafe, Hackney. London, UK πŸ‡¬πŸ‡§

It was a rainy, miserable excuse for a Saturday and I wasn’t feeling my best. Instead of sitting around with a little sad face, I decided to do a nice big vegan eat to cheer me up.

I consulted my loooooooong list of places to check out and settled on the comforting, home cooked offerings of the Black Cat Cafe in Hackney.

The cafe is homely, non-profit and run by volunteers, just the kinda thing to give you all the feels when you’re down. Surprisingly, I managed to get a table right away – top tip : it pays to go a little earlier on a Saturday!

The menu is ever changing and displayed on a chalkboard behind the counter. I’m terrible when it comes to making snap decisions and, in honesty, I wanted to put the whole menu into my face. Sensing my fear and desperation, the girl serving recommended the burger which I happily went with.

A moment of terror hit when I realised that I couldn’t see booze and had to settle for a no fun fizzy – I later discovered that it’s actually BYOB!

While at the counter, I couldn’t help but let my eyes wander over to the cakey goodness on display. You do like to entice me you naughty little Black Cat you! I scored myself a little blueberry topped chocolate cake.

Black Cat Cafe

I took a seat and, as I waited, the guy beside me was served an insanely tasty looking lasagne. The food envy was great. I was seriously about a second away from committing a pasta-ry theft crime when my burger arrived…

Black Cat Cafe

For those of you who love a big portion, this one was HUGE. If I remember, the whole thing cost around Β£7 so fantastic value for money! A detail often over looked in a good vegan burger is the bun and I loved the brioche style. The burger itself was a seitan style patty, hearty, super bitey and very tasty.

The wedges were fat, perfectly cooked and filled my little belly with warm happy potatoey satisfaction.

I was so full after the main that I had no room for my cheeky little cake. Fear not, he was cheerfully consumed with a coffee later on.

I had embarked upon a forage for comfort and the food at the Black Cat cafe was the edible equivalent of a giant embrace from a friendly bear. Β Just be sure to bring a bottle if you’re a naughty little booze hound like me!

Official DV Rating: 4Β out of 5 AuberginesΒ 

πŸ† Β πŸ† Β πŸ† Β πŸ†

DVx

πŸ“Find this, and more dirty eats on my interactive A to V Map

Black Cat Cafe

Leave a Reply

